Billy Butlin came to Skegness in 1923, a poor travelling showman, with his hoop-la stalls, he entertained the holidaymakers. By 1929 he had opened an amusement park to the south side of the pier.
Construction work starting in September 1935 on his first holiday camp at Ingoldmells just north of Skegness. Billy Butlin had a few setbacks like almost running out of funding and the lack of an adequate water supply acquired only a few days before opening his doors for visitors on the 11th April 1936.
Who else in the 1930’s could have the vision to turn 200 acres of former turnip field into a holiday paradise, at its peak catering for up to 8000 happy campers.
The camp being an immediate success and went from strength to strength. Here was a self contained holiday experience that provided you with three meals a day and free entertainment for 35 shillings a week (£1.75)
During the Second World War the camp was requisitioned by the government for use by the Royal Navy and re-named H.M.S Royal Arthur. It was returned to Butlin’s in 1946 Despite the Germans claiming to have sunk Royal Arthur twice
In 1972 the company was sold to the Rank Organisation and re-named yet again, this time as Funcoast World.